Feast of North American Martyrs

Between the years 1642 and 1649 eight members of the Society of Jesus were killed in North America, after fearful torture by members of the Huron and Iroquois tribes. These men had worked hard to bring the natives of that region to the true faith. Saint Isaac Jogues died October 18, 1647, and Saint John de Brebeuf on March 16, 1648.

The skull of St. John de Brebeuf:

“Father, you consecrated the first beginnings of the faith in North America by the preaching and martyrdom of Saints John and Isaac and their companions. By the help of their prayers may the Christian faith continue to grow throughout the world. We ask this through our Lord Jesus Christ, your Son, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, God for ever and ever.”

5 Responses to “Feast of North American Martyrs”

  1. Lauren Sheet Says:

    I just wanted to thank you for this post. The entire site is a blessing and I read it regularly. It brings me great joy and strengthens my faith daily. But, today’s post is especially appreciated. For the past week I’ve been inundated by finger wagging lectures on the evils of the white man in America and the nobility of the pre-Columbian savage. It’s so tiring.

  2. C. Whitty Says:

    Thanks for the comment. Sorry about your lectures. There is a lot of anger in our society today. Let’s continue praying for the evangelization of all peoples.

  3. Jim Hogue Says:

    Ditto to all Lauren said. I agree. Similarly, I’ve recently learned of “Our Lady of America”. Apparition of our Holy Mother in 1956. I wish more Catholics truly lived the Catholic way. It makes me very sad. Thank-you for your beautiful website. I will keep it in “favorites” and put it to my blogs. (Jim Hogue)
    http://www.saintquotes.blogspot.com
    http://www.catholicpsychology.blogspot.com

  4. marlene leblanc Says:

    Thank you for “being there”. I have such a devotion to these saints (I am originally from Canada). This past Oct. 19th, my son was in a horrible car accident which almost took his life and those of his passengers. I could not go to Mass that day since I spent it in the hospital at his side but I did pray to the martyrs. Perhaps they played some part in his recovery (interestingly, my son was also baptized on their feastday, in 1986). Now, they encourage me every day to go beyond myself and my fears. My three children are fallen away from the Church and I must speak up for the faith to them. The martyrs urge me on with their wonderful example!

    • C. Whitty Says:

      I will pray for your children at Mass today. Remember, we are all called to be martyrs whether it be in horrible cries of physical agony or in silence. Peace be to you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

